Account administrators have a number of controls to manage data. One new administrator feature is a tool called "Sharing Audit Logs," which lets the person see a complete log of all the sharing activity around certain files within the company's Dropbox account.
Dropbox for Business is designed to keep data safe so that it doesn't fall into the wrong hands, and to keep data separate between personal and work accounts. So, even though an employee is able to switch between accounts, only that person can access their personal account. But both the user and the employer can access a work account.
Some of the product's first users include Kayak, National Geographic and the fashion company BCBG Max Azria Group.
Nader Karimi , chief information officer at BCBG, said that one thing he worried about was security, and whether it was possible to disable accounts of employees who leave the company so they no longer have access to sensitive work files.
Dropbox's service does offer tools for that, like "Account Transfer," to transfer over an employee's account to someone else, and also remote wipe to delete an account.
"I'm confident they won't take this information with them when they leave," Karimi said.
Sign up for Computerworld eNewsletters.