Subscribe / Unsubscribe Enewsletters | Login | Register

Pencil Banner

5 LinkedIn privacy settings you need to know

Kristin Burnham | Nov. 3, 2010
Many regard LinkedIn as the "safe" social network--there are no games that jeopardize your privacy, you aren't posting incriminating photos of last weekend's Halloween party and you're not TKTKTKTK. But that's no reason to ignore the privacy and account settings that LinkedIn has in place.

To find out whether or not you are posting all of your Tweets to LinkedIn, choose Twitter Settings under the Profile Settings section. Here you can add or remove a Twitter account, choose whether or not you want to display your Twitter account on your LinkedIn profile and decide whether or not you want to share all your tweets or only the tweets that contain the #in hashtag. Here, you can also adjust how you want your tweets to appear (i.e. with a picture, title page and short description).

4. Profile Views

Located about halfway down your LinkedIn homepage on the right-hand side is the box "Who's Viewed My Profile," which gives you two statistics: how many times your profile has been viewed recently and how many times you have appeared in search results recently.

Clicking on this link will bring you to a page that displays vague statistics related to who has viewed your profile, such as "Someone at XYZ company," "Someone in the technology/new media function in the Greater Boston Area" and "Vice President at XYZ company."

Visit the Profile Views setting, found under the Privacy Settings section, if you want to adjust how you appear to others when you visit their profile.

You have three options: You can have your name and headline included (which also will display your picture and current title); you can be displayed anonymously with only profile characteristics such as your industry and title; or you can be invisible to the users you have viewed.

5. Authorized Applications

Last November, LinkedIn opened its APIs and launched the LinkedIn Platform, which lets developers integrate LinkedIn into their business applications and Websites.

Since then, you've probably tried some of these apps and granted sites access to your LinkedIn profile. You can find a list of these applications and partners under Authorized Applications in the Privacy Settings section, and remove them accordingly.

Removing the applications from this page will remove them from your LinkedIn home page, profile page and prevent any further access to your LinkedIn data. If you only want to remove them from your profile page, choose "Edit My Profile" and click the remove link next to the title of the application.

The same goes with the external Websites that you have granted access to your profile and network data: removing the access here will prevent them from accessing your LinkedIn data. If you want to re-enable them in the future, visit the Website and grant access again.

 

Previous Page  1  2 

Sign up for Computerworld eNewsletters.